Holy Week Break Update

April 2, 2010 at 2:18 am 2 comments

I am officially on break for the Holy Week. And let me tell you, I am feeling great! I have been dreaming about this break for a few weeks now, usually when I wake up Monday mornings and I think about how great it would be if I could sleep in and plan to read, eat, watch TV or DVDs, and do other relaxing things at home.

Well, I am on my second day of no work now and I thought I’d blog about the things I’ve been doing and the things I want to do for the rest of the break (three full days more of doing nothing).

1. I woke up on the first day of the break in my brother’s airconditioned room (for friends from the US, it gets very humid here in the Philippines especially this time of the year) cuddled up with the cutest baby Shih-tzu ever. It’s amazing that our pup, Audrey, does not wake up in the middle of the night. She sleeps as long as I do. Maybe even longer if I don’t force her to get up. Brought her to the vet to get a vaccine shot in the afternoon and got her some dog vitamins. Aside from this, most of the day yesterday was spent  in front of my Macbook or my TV. Very productive, don’t you think?

2. Today was a little more productive. I decided today I needed to make a dent on my reading. I am still reading Watermelon by Marian Keyes (the first 200 pages are quite slow for my taste). I’m a little over halfway done so I should be able to finish by tomorrow, which is good because I cannot wait to get started on my next book. I think I’ll start reading American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld.

Catching up on my reading

In our comfortable balcony

With the requisite reading companions

She wanted to keep me company, too.

3. Right now, apart from writing this entry, I am also looking through the blogrolls of blogs that I follow. I am trying out Bloglines and looking for blogs I can follow using the service. I’ve seen new ones that are very interesting. I am excited to follow them.

Here are some of them:
Locally, there’s chuvaness.livejournal.com who is followed by thousands here in the Philippines and a lovely friend of mine from church, Sam, who blogs at http://www.happysammy.com/ .

Elsewhere, I’m starting to follow Lauren from Texas, Nothing But Bonfires, BooMama, Sweet Bliss, These Little Moments, Callapider Days, and Suburban Euphoria.

4. I went out to walk early this evening. I am still a little wary about running since I don’t have the right shoes yet. I don’t think I ever mentioned it in this blog but I got a running-related injury about a week before my first real race and I’ve consulted other runners and described the pain and circumstances that led to it and consensus is that I might need new running shoes and that I should do gait analysis so I’ll know what’s wrong with how I run. Haven’t gotten down to doing that yet because I don’t really have the budget for new running shoes right now.

For the next few days, I am hoping to watch a few movies on DVD, arrange my books on my newly-installed and newly-painted shelves, work on my to-bring-to-Boracay list, work on a few blog entries for this blog and my book blog, and maybe also do some homework.

Hope everyone else is having a restful Holy Week!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Books and Reading, Everyday Life, Pets, Uncategorized.

Meet Audrey Quick Update

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. happysammy  |  April 7, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Glad to see that you had a productive Holy Week! Thank you for reading my blog 🙂

    Praying that your work load is manageable this week!

    Reply
    • 2. Ro Manalo  |  April 9, 2010 at 11:28 pm

      Thanks for dropping by, Sam! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Verse for the Moment:

The LORD is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made.The LORD upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down. -Psalm 145:13-14

Currently Reading

My Book Blog

Ro’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I am a SITSta!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 10,358 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


