All About Running

February 6, 2010 at 11:56 pm 7 comments

It’s official. I am running my first 5k run on February 21. I registered for the Century Tuna Superbods Run a couple of weeks ago with my friend Leah.

I joined a 5k run in 2008 but since I walked most of the way, I don’t consider it my real first run.

Now I am panicking because I haven’t started getting in the thick of training for it yet! I am not exactly in the best shape; I found myself out of breath every time I tried to run these last two weeks. Plus, had to stop training when my Mom and I joined a detox flush last weekend.

Going to try to jog early tomorrow morning before I go to church but if I don’t wake up early enough (weather is not ideal once the sun is up), I’ll have to run in the gym again next week.

I am really getting interested in running and have been looking through takbo.ph for runs to join this year. Here’s a rundown of runs I plan to join this year:

RUN AGAINST THE ELEMENTS: Ateneo COSA Fun Run 2010 (3/5/10K)
March 28, 2010, 5:30 AM
The Fort

•••

The RunRio Trilogy Leg 2: Nature Valley Run 3/5/10/21
May 30, 2010
Bonifacio Global City, Taguig

•••

Takbo.ph Anniversary Fun Run:  Celebrate Running
July 25, 2010
The Fort

•••

October Running Festival
October 17, 2010
The Fort

•••

The RunRio Trilogy Leg 3: The 2010 Timex Run 3/5/10/32K
November 21, 2010
Bonifacio Global City, Taguig

Since I plan to get semi-serious with running, it’s about time I make a wish-list of running-related items. Here goes:

1. Serious running shoes: These are the New Balance WR 1011. They are said to be ideal for high-mileage runners seeking maximum motion control.

2. Adidas MiCoach: I am told this new technology acts like a pedometer, measuring your distance, and measures your heart rate as you run. It tells you if you need to take it easy or to push you when you’re lagging. It is compatible with any MP3 Player.

3. Running Sunglasses: This pair is from Adidas. It’s supposed to have zero-distortion lenses (which I need because I usually get a little dizzy when I have sunglasses on) and traction grip on the temples. Plus it is light-weight.


4. Running Cap: Okay, I have to admit, my head is a little big, and so not all caps fit me comfortably. It’s been difficult to find the perfect one but this one by New Balance looks promising.

Is there any other thing I should have on this wish list? Drop me a comment!

Entry filed under: Health and Fitness. Tags: , .

Review: Did You Hear About the Morgans? Celebrity Collage by MyHeritage

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen  |  February 7, 2010 at 1:40 am

    How did the detox flush go? I’ve contemplated doing something like that for a long time but never have.

    I really need some running supplies too. Especially some new shoes since I’ve been wearing the same ones for two years and they’re getting pretty worn out!

    Reply
  • 2. Ro Manalo  |  February 7, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Hi, Kathleen!

    The detox flush was awful! Had to drink this bitter drink four times. The worst though is the drink they gave us before going to sleep on Saturday. It was orange, citrusy-tasting drink that was composed mostly of olive oil. Can you imagine drinking a glass of olive oil? Just thinking about it makes me want to hurl.

    However awful it was, though, it did the job of cleansing my insides. Went to the bathroom ten times. But it doesn’t feel like you have diarrhea, you won’t feel any pain in the tummy. You’ll hear your tummy rumbling a lot though. I lost 5 lbs in two days.

    Reply
  • 3. SamTheRunningNinja  |  February 10, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    A nice socks, running bra, body glide/petroleumn jelly, hydration belt when you start running 10km, gels (hammer gel or GU) when you start running even longer (15km-42km). You can try a sweat visor if you’re having a hard time with caps.

    Reply
    • 4. Ro Manalo  |  February 18, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      Thanks, Sam! Gosh, I’m nervous about Sunday!

      Reply
  • 5. TriCityNewBalance  |  February 12, 2010 at 6:52 am

    For all these races coming up, check out the latest New Balance styles @TriCityNewBalance.com!

    We offer 15% off ALL New Balance styles + FREE GROUND SHIPPING!

    The 1011 has been updated to the 1012! It offers a new, lighter look. Check it out here:
    http://www.tricitynewbalance.com/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=1012&search_in_description=1&inc_subcat=1&x=0&y=0

    Call on our staff (Rick, Adam and Eric)! We’ll be happy to assist you!

    -Adam, TriCityNewBalance.com

    Reply
  • 6. Timmy  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    hi ro, wow ah, serious runner indeed! daming stuff 😉

    see you on the road (after office hours!) hahaha

    its nice to see more and more people from summit are getting serious into running 🙂 see yah!

    Reply
    • 7. Ro Manalo  |  February 18, 2010 at 5:19 pm

      Naku, hindi pa ako serious talaga. Naguumpisa pa lang. Sumakit kaya paa ko last week. Feeling ko coz of the way I run. Natatakot tuloy ako for Sunday. Hehe.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Verse for the Moment:

The LORD is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made.The LORD upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down. -Psalm 145:13-14

Currently Reading

My Book Blog

Ro’s Tweets

I am a SITSta!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 10,360 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


