Found the Perfect Concealer

December 9, 2009 at 9:57 pm Leave a comment

I woke up feeling awful today. I literally could not get up from bed. When I finally did, I began sneezing non-stop. I took a bath and got ready for work but had to take a nap again because I felt woozy. It was already past noon when I finally got up and got ready to go to work AGAIN. I checked myself in the mirror and I looked as awful as I felt! My eyes were bloodshot and I had darker-than-usual circles under my eyes.

I had been meaning to look for a concealer since Tuesday when one of the people I had lunch with, a makeup artist, told me when I asked if my makeup was okay said that I just needed to put concealer so I would look “fresher.” I decided that today I would find my concealer.

I headed straight to Rustans in Shangri-la where all the great makeup brands can be found. As I had just bought a copy of the Bobbi Brown Makeup Manual, I went first to the Bobbi Brown counter where a friendly salesperson helped me look for the shade that was right for me. I was told I needed a corrector in Peach (something my makeup artist friend also told me) and a concealer in Natural.

She also put some oil-free foundation on my face so I could better appreciate the concealer. I, then, headed to the mall’s food court to get quick lunch so I could drink my meds and also to let the concealer set. Alas, after lunch, my circles were back and looked even worse than before. I went back to Bobbi Brown and the salesperson said I might be acidic so she put a lighter shade concealer on me, which ended up making me look even more sick and tired than I was.

Good thing I ran into my friend and officemate Frances, the editor-in-chief of OK! Magazine in the Philippines, and Mariel, who is a beauty blogger and Philippine Daily Inquirer beauty columnist, also former Beauty Editor of the Philippine edition of Cosmopolitan. They both agreed that the Bobbi Brown wasn’t for me and proceeded to help me find the right concealer for me.

Next counter we went to was the Guerlain counter, where the salesperson gave me the Guerlain Precious Light Rejuvenating Illuminator. Mariel used to use this brand but the exact product she used they’re not selling anymore. The Precious Light Rejuvenating Illuminator looked better on me than the Bobbi Brown but was still too thin to cover my dark circles.

I was just about ready to give up when Frances suggested we head over to Shu Uemura to try their concealer. The salesperson who is also a makeup artist gave me the Shu Uemura Pro Concealer in 7YR Medium.

The difference was so obvious. The Shu concealer hid my undereye circles perfectly and didn’t make me look more tired, which was usually my problem when I tried concealers before (It turns out I might have been choosing a shade that was too light for me. Instead of correcting the darkness, it just put a veil under my eyes that made the darkness more obvious.) Finally, a concealer that’s right for me! Hooray!

Entry filed under: Beauty.

It was love at first sight Review: I Love You, Goodbye

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Verse for the Moment:

The LORD is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made.The LORD upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down. -Psalm 145:13-14

Currently Reading

My Book Blog

Ro’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I am a SITSta!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 10,370 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


