31

November 8, 2009 at 1:50 am 4 comments

I can’t believe I’m turning 31 on Tuesday. I sure don’t feel 31.

Truth is, in many ways, I think I’m stuck in my early 20s. A lot of times I disappoint myself when I act like a temperamental, over-sensitive kid trapped in an adult woman’s body. Just this past week, I’ve had a lot of slip-ups. I said things I’m not proud of and the moment I said them, I wished I could take them back. I reacted negatively to situations instead of being calm and assessing how I should respond in a way that would do God proud. What a way to start my birthday month, huh?

Good thing God is faithful to forgive and always gives me a new day with no wrongs in it. He wipes my slate clean so I can reboot and restart.

So on that note, I start my 4-day-long birthday celebration.

Today, my Mom gave me her gift. I won’t tell you what it is but it’s something I’ve been wanting for a long time but couldn’t afford. This evening, my family also went out to celebrate my birthday. I’m so pleased that today had none of the bad vibes that the last week was swimming in. Let me tell you, though, something I’ve learned about that: No matter how much “bad vibes” a day brings, I realize that it’s still up to me how I’m going to respond to it. People may be negative, circumstances may not go my way, but no one is to blame but me when I respond wrongly.

It’s true what the bible says: “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure.” I need to stop letting my emotions get the best of me. And I think that’s something I would really like to work on about myself on my 31st year of life.

Anyway, going back to my birthday dinner, we had dinner in my favorite restaurant here in Sta. Rosa. It’s called Kanin Club (that’s Rice Club, for my non-Filipino readers) and it serves yummy Filipino dishes like these.

IMG_7832Sinigang na Tadyang ng Baka

*Sinigang is a Filipino soup or stew that’s sour in flavor (flavor usually coming from tamarind). Sinigang can have fish in it, chicken, pork, or beef (like in this dish) and a variety of vegetables.

IMG_7833Adobong Kangkong (Sauteed river spinach)

IMG_7836Kare-kare

*Kare-kare is a Philippine stew made from peanut sauce with a variety of vegetables, stewed oxtail, beef, and occasinally tripe. It is very good with shrimp paste.

IMG_7842Crispy Dinuguan

*Dinuguan is a pork stew flavoured by vinegar and pork blood. This particular dish contains chicharong bulaklak (a dish made of fried pork rinds) covered with the dinuguan sauce. This is my personal favorite. Very unhealthy and looks downright nasty but man, does it taste good!

IMG_7843Crispy Pata (Deep-fried pork leg served with prawn crackers)

IMG_7840Pancit Lucban (a Philippine noodle dish)

IMG_7838Bagoong Rice (rice cooked in shrimp paste)

And here’s the best part of this meal…

IMG_7848Having it with my family (L-R: Amico, my brother, my mom, and my lola (grandmother)

IMG_7820my sister Gabbi & me

IMG_7849the family having post-dinner coffee and tea at Starbucks

Entry filed under: Family, God.

I’ve Gotta Feeling After my Birthday comes my Christmas Wish List

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ganns  |  November 8, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Happy birthday, Ro!

    Kare-kare? Crispy pata?? Crispy dinuguan??? My goodness, wouldn’t you like to live to see your 32nd birthday? LOL

    Reply
    • 2. romanalo78  |  November 9, 2009 at 12:19 am

      Haha! Minsan minsan lang naman. And only in moderation. 🙂 Thank you, Ganns!

      Reply
  • 3. cvillamin  |  November 8, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Happy birthday Ro! =)

    Nakakagutom pics mo =)

    Reply
    • 4. romanalo78  |  November 9, 2009 at 12:19 am

      Thank you, Charles! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Verse for the Moment:

The LORD is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made.The LORD upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down. -Psalm 145:13-14

Currently Reading

My Book Blog

Ro’s Tweets

I am a SITSta!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 10,360 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


