Getting on the Victory Caravan

September 12, 2009 at 1:47 am 2 comments

Just got home from a four day stay in Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija where a group of around 50 people from Victory Ortigas, myself included, took part in the first-ever Victory Caravan, a project of Victory Ortigas‘s Outreach Ministry in cooperation with our Victory church in Cabanatuan. Several different outreaches took place simultaneously from August 27-29: a medical mission (medical, dental, optometry), a feeding and children’s church program, a sports clinic, a dance workshop, and an evangelical worship concert. The purpose of these outreach activities is to reach out to and be of service to the local communities in Cabanatuan.

This was my second time to go on a local mission trip. It was very different from the first one that we had in Tacloban where we acted as LIFE Coaches to the local youth involved in the Work Appreciation Program run by the local government. For one, this is my first time to participate in an actual medical mission and it’s my first time to participate as a photographer to document everything happening. It was my first time to be with most of the people I was with and it was also the first time I tried counseling people I didn’t know! Truth be told, a LOT of things happened before this mission trip that almost made me not participate. But it IS true, God’s purposes will always prevail and He won over my doubts, fears, and hesitations. Thank God for that because I had the time of my life.

Here are some pictures to show you what happened:

DSC_1105

Dr. Kim Pascual (in white wearing the stethoscope) is the head of Operation Blessing of CBN Asia (producers of the 700 Club). We were privileged to have her volunteering with us.

DSC_1029

Wen (in gray scrubs) is a dentist who is part of my Sunday discipleship group. It’s her first time to serve in a medical mission.

DSC_1211

God loves children! So do we! Children’s church workers doing what they do best.

DSC_1283

This photo fills my heart with joy

DSC_1661

Dance workshop

DSC_1289

Small groups after the dance workshop. Warm up question was: “If you could choose anyone in the world to teach you how to dance, who would you pick?” The names that came up were Beyonce, Janet Jackson, Usher, Justin Timberlake. Of course, if given the chance, we would always choose the best to teach us. The follow up question: “Who would you trust to guide you in your life?” Our suggestion: Choose God.

DSC_1701

Basketball Clinic

IMG_7202

Worship Night

DSC_1469

These young people came forward to receive Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior at the Worship Concert

DSC_1020The Team minus me because I was taking the picture

DSC_1358

A picture with me (in purple) and David, our videographer, (guy with a cap on) in it, finally! ๐Ÿ™‚

Entry filed under: 101 Things in 1001 Days, Church, Victory Ortigas.

Sorry, Project 365 and other updates 46. Memorize 25 life verses (3/25)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen  |  September 12, 2009 at 6:36 am

    I got chills…not because I’m sick (I am) but because that event looks amazing! Praise God. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. romanalo78  |  September 13, 2009 at 1:32 pm

      It was an amazing experience! Praise God indeed! Will be praying for your healing. Get better soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Verse for the Moment:

The LORD is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made.The LORD upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down. -Psalm 145:13-14

Currently Reading

My Book Blog

Ro’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I am a SITSta!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 10,370 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


