In sickness and in health

August 13, 2009 at 1:08 pm 2 comments

Didn’t go to work today. Not feeling much worse than I was feeling the last three days but my voice is just about gone. I need to rest to be able to lead my bible study group tonight.

What’s frustrating about having asthma is when it comes, you’re sure to be out for at least week. I can’t believe I thought I could still work out Monday. I’m glad I decided against it. I would probably be in worse shape if I had pushed myself to go to the gym.

What’s even more frustrating about being sidelined for a week is getting set back from my weight-loss program. I joined this weight-loss challenge we have in church called VITE CLUB. We weighed in Thursday last week and I just found out that the follow-up weigh-in is happening a week from now! Puts a little pressure on me to diet and exercise. And I HATE DIETING! I do! But I know that no weight-loss program will work without some kind of adjustment in the way I eat.

So, this is my plan: For breakfast, which is to be eaten at least 30 minutes before I work out is a banana and lots of water. Post workout meal can be half a sandwich, to be eaten before 10am. Lunch can be anything with just half a cup of rice. Snack and light dinner before 8pm, since I sleep pretty late.

Now for the workout: I really want to be able to run 3k without walking. As it is, I can’t even run for more than 15 minutes straight, which is frustrating because I’ve never been a great runner. So that is my goal for now. To run a 3k race in decent time. Any ideas on how I can be able to do this by Septmeber?

Entry filed under: Health and Fitness, Vite Club.

An explanation is in order Lashing Out

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kris  |  August 14, 2009 at 7:41 am

    your body needs to adjust to exercise again. just go at it slowly and you’ll notice that you’ll gain more endurance. set goals like running 30 minutes without walking, even if it means jogging really really slow. eventually, you’ll pace up without even noticing it.

    Reply
    • 2. romanalo78  |  August 16, 2009 at 2:26 am

      Poodle, it’s back to zero because I got sick. 😦 How many times should I run in a week? Should I be increasing time every day or every week?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Verse for the Moment:

The LORD is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made.The LORD upholds all those who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down. -Psalm 145:13-14

Currently Reading

My Book Blog

Ro’s Tweets

I am a SITSta!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 10,360 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


